common_header
Search
ecom_iariane
You are on page :   | The domaine | The winery and its history

The winery and its history

La cave et son histoire

A rich history has its responsability


The Cave du Roi Dagobert was born in the bleak post-war period of 1952. 60 years on, it is proud of the journey it has accomplished.


With originally just 70 hectares of surface under vine, the cooperative now counts almost 1000 hectares of vines. They are nurtured by the cooperative's 250 member winemakers originating from around 20 communes situated between Molsheim and Marlenheim.

The Cave du Roi Dagobert is now a key figure in Alsatian wine production. Thanks to hard work and commitment from its winemakers, the winery has built a solid reputation for professionalism and quality.


The name 'Dagobert' originates from the winery's geographical position which borders the former estate of the Merovingian palace in Kirchheim that welcomed the famous King Dagobert II and his court in the VII century. The first written reference to vines in Alsace dates back to this same period. The Dagobert estate was run by 4 royal farms located at the 4 cardinal points of the palace. The 4 villages still bear their names to this day: Osthoffen in the East, Westhoffen in the West, Nordheim in the North and Soultz in the South. These farms supplied their wines to the Royal Palace of Dagobert II.  

Throughout the Middle Ages, our terroir's wines graced the best tables in Strasbourg as well as much further afield in Northern Europe. Thanks to the Rhine river corridor, this thriving and heavily-taxed trade contributed significantly to financing the construction of the Strasbourg cathedral.

The winemakers at the Cave du Roi Dagobert endeavour to conserve the winery's fascinating history and safeguard its legacy through sustainable and respectable winemaking practices that value both the environment and our terroirs.